GALLERY OF EVENTS - Launch of Hayman Foundation - 7th March 2009 - Page 1

Page 1 - Page 2


(Established 2009)




“To spend and be spent in their work
was their greatest and best privilege.”


Although S.Thomas’ College at Gurutalawa began as an integral part of the School founded by Bishop James Chapman at Mutuwal in 1851, those associated with the School have always considered Dr.R L Hayman as the ‘Founder’ of STC at Gurutalawa. In one sense, he was, for although he would perhaps have preferred to have stayed at Mount Lavinia, it was he that practically built the School that continued at Gurutalawa when the war ended in 1945 and the majority of exiled Thomians returned to Mount Lavinia. He was for STC at Gurutalawa what Warden Stone was for Mount Lavinia – a transplanter & builder. Dr. Hayman’s legacy has been well documented but one of the finest tributes to Dr.Hayman has come from Prof. C C de Silva. ‘No single man has done so much or given so generously, both materially and intellectually to S.Thomas’ College, or to any other school for that matter in Ceylon at any time in her long history. I think I can pronounce that as an indisputable, incontrovertible statement of fact’.

With Canon R S De Saram, and Canon A J Foster he formed a triumvirate that guided the early destinies of the School, but it was Dr.Hayman who laid a solid foundation for the School at Gurutalawa combining the ethos of the parent School at Mount Lavinia with its Etonian roots and the spartan ethos of Kurt Hahn’s Gordonstoun School. His tenure of office has been the longest of any Headmaster and he bestrode the destinies of Guru like a colossus between 1944 and 1964 when he retired to England. He epitomized R W Emerson’s words that ‘An institution is the lengthened shadow of one man’. From 1945 he was more than ably supported by a loyal and able staff, and by his petite wife Mary who took on the task of surrogate mother with great ease. Their partnership has been vividly described by the then Bishop A R Graham Campbell of Colombo thus; For him (Dr.Hayman) the School has been first and foremost a family – a family in which every member mattered – mattered equally and was cared for in equal measure and for each of whom he sought to find the appropriate outlet for his energies and interests. And in building up and caring for the life of the Thomian family here in Gurutalawa he has been wonderfully helped, as you all know, by Mrs.Hayman, not least in her devoted care for the sick....”


Although the Haymans retired to England in1964, they never ceased to have links with S.Thomas’ College. Dr.Hayman passed away in 1983 soon after his last visit to Sri Lanka. Mrs.Hayman last visited the School in 1992 when she attended the 50th Anniversary celebrations. She died in November 2007. Soon afterwards the Executors of her Last Will informed the School that she had left a bequest of 2000 Pounds to the School. We felt it would be most appropriate to invest the sum in a special Trust Fund that would be part of a new society called “The Hayman Foundation”. It was decided to name this society thus not just to remember two our greatest benefactors but also to pay tribute to two people whose devotion to the service of children touched so many others during their time at Guru. They both embodied Bishop James Chapman’s ideal ‘To spend and he spent in our work is our greatest and best privilege’-that must be a challenge to us who continue what they started.

The objectives of the Foundation will be to raise funds on along term basis for the benefit of the College. Any old Thomian who would like to be part of this venture may become members of the Hayman Foundation by depositing a sum of no less than 1/3rd of the approximately Rs.300,000/- bequeathed by Mrs.Mary Hayman. The Board of Trustees will comprise the Headmaster (Ex-Officio), three nominated members of the College Board of Governors (one of whom shall be the Manger) and two nominated members of the STCG Old Boy’s Association. The funds will be invested with the Incorporated Trustees of the Church of Ceylon and disbursed by the Trustees on the request of the Headmaster as and when the Endowment Fund is adequately built up.

For further details please contact the Headmaster, S.Thomas’ College Gurutalawa by mail to the School address, telephone or fax on 057-2280000; or by e.mail to . Your participation, collaboration and solidarity in this venture will be one way for you to repay the nurture fee you owe your alma mater.

“The greatest Memorial to Dr.Hayman will be to follow the way of life he led; to seek integrity, to follow uprightness, to care for others in their affliction, and to love and labour for their deliverance.”

Bishop Lakshman Wickremesinghe, 1983

Old Boys in Fellowship
Old Boys in Fellowship
Old Boys in Fellowship
Mr. Duleepkumar with Mrs.Billimoria and daughter Shekainah
Mr.Sanath Jayatilaka and Brig.B Munasinghe
Mr.Bandu Wanigasekera
Ready for the launch of the Hayman Foundation – Mr.Rajan Asirwathan presently Secretary of the Board, Mr.S K Wickremasinghe, Mr.L W A Fernando, Mr.Bradman Weerakoon, Mr.Duleep Kumar and Bro:Michael seated in the front row
Mr.Merril Aluwihare the only Guru Old Boy who is a Member of the Board as the Staff Representative for Branch Schools, Rashid, Lincoln Fernando, Hermon Fernando at the back Mr.Rajan Asirwathan,, Mr.Gamini Fernando and Mr.V K Wickremasinghe in front.
Mr.Christo Gonawela and Mr.Udaya Gunaratne
Rashid, Merril Aluwihare, Lincoln Fernando, Herman Fernando, Sanath Jayatilaka, Lanka Nesiah, N D U Kuru Utumpala
Rashid, Merril Aluwihare, Lincoln Fernando, Herman Fernando, Sanath Jayatilaka, Lanka Nesiah, N D U Kuru Utumpala and Dr.Nissanka de S Seneviratne
Rajan Asirwathan, S K Wickremasinghe, L W A Fernando, Bradman Weerakoon, Mr.P S Duleepkumar, Bro:Michael and Gerald de Alwis.
Rashid, Nihal Wanni, and Palitha Rajapakse in the middle row.
Mr.Siri Perera, Gamini Fernando, V K Wickremasinghe and Shervon Fernando in the 2nd row.
Mr.Bandu Wanigasekera and Mr.Arthur Perera in the front row.
The Headmaster addresses the gathering
The Headmaster addresses the gathering
The Headmaster addresses the gathering
Mr.Rajmohan gives a patient ear
The Headmaster continues.
Dinusha De Costa, S Balaramesh, Mahen Ranasinghe and S Rajmohan
Senior Old Boys in the front row
The Headmaster places his signature on the Deed
The Headmaster places his signature on the Deed
Mr.Lincoln Fernando places his signature

About us
Reports and Recommendations
Newsletters & Circulars
Articles / Memoirs / Reflections
News of Old Boys
Gallery of Events
Notice Board / Calendar
Contact us